Cisco has created a new entry-level certification named Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT) and has introduced the ICND1 (640-822), ICND2 (640-816), and CCNA (640-802) exams. The 640-802 exam is a single exam option for becoming a CCNA. A candidate can also opt for the ICND1 and ICND2 exams to be certified as a CCNA. However, the ICND1 (640-822) exam can be taken to achieve the Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT).

The Cisco CCENT (Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician) certification validates the skills required for entry-level network support positions, the starting point for many successful careers in networking. Candidates should have the knowledge and skills to install, operate, and troubleshoot a small enterprise branch network, including basic network security. The CCENT certification is the first step towards achieving CCNA, which covers medium-size enterprise branch networks having more complex connections.

Before taking the 640-822 exam, you should practice the following:

  1. Create a network of two computers through cross-over cables.
  2. Create a bus network.
  3. Create a star network.
  4. Create a mesh network.
  5. Configure hub, switch, and router.
  6. Configure DHCP on the network.
  7. Experiment with Voice/Video over IP (VoIP).
  8. Create an intranet.
  9. Configure your modem/router/ISDN to connect to the Internet.
  10. Use and understand the outputs of commands such as PING, PATHPING, and TRACERT.
  11. Configure a network interface card (NIC).
  12. Experiment with different types of media/cables/connecters to connect switch/router.
  13. Understand boot-up process of a router.
  14. Use CLI to experiment with different commands for a switch/router.
  15. Configure a wireless LAN.

Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>